Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos, Click for Travel Guide

Pecos Enterprise


Archive 62
Archive 74
Pecos Country History
Archive 87
1987 Tornado Photos
Rodeo Photos 88
Archive 95
Archive 96
Archive 97
News Photos 1997
Rodeo Photos 97
Archive 98
News Photos 1998
Rodeo Photos 98
Parade Photos 98
Archive 99
Photos 99

Area Newspapers


Daily Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas


Wednesday, July 14, 1999

Study club members attend convention

The Modern Study Club was represented by six members of it's organization at the 39th Annual Convention of the Western District of the Texas Federation of Women's Clubs held in Monahans. The convention hosted by the Tan Lambda Study Club and the Wednesday Study Club of Monahans, was held in the Ward County Convention Center.

Representing the organization were President Lena Harpham; Joyce Marton; 2nd Vice-President of Western District of TFWC Pearl Gustafson; Treasurer, Margie Williamson; Reporter, Doris Moorman and Etta Sullivan. Joining them for a part of the festivities was Ruth Wells of Alpine, former member of the Modern Study Club.

Four of these ladies join Mrs. Marton on serving on the Western District Board. They are Etta Sullivan as head of the Substance Abuse/Prevention program in the Home Life Department; Pearl Gustafson, Literature and Performing Arts Programs, Margie Williamson, photographer, Special Presidential Appointment, and Lena Harpham as a Western District Club President.

Frances Dunn of Odessa, Western District President conducted the formal opening of the convention at 1:30 p.m. following an 11 a.m. Executive Committee Meeting and a 1 p.m. following District Board Meeting. Paula Johnson of Monahans gave the invocation. The pledges to the United States of America Flag and the Texas flag were led by Laverne Swarb of Monahans and Lois Grant Monahans, respectively. Nancy Williams of Monahans led the National Anthem.

The welcome was given by David Cutbirth, Mayor, of Monahans with Lois Grant of Monahans, president of the Wednesday Study Club of Monahans, responding. Francis Dunn presented the hostess clubs, The Wednesday Study Club and the Tan Lambda Study Club of Monahans.

Dunn also gave special recognition to Marion Gamertsfelder of Dalhart, president of the Texas Federation of Women's Clubs and Bobbe Mitchell of Sanderson, First Vice-President of TFWC. District Life Members of TFWC Barbara Humphreys of Alpine Ruth Thompson of Midland, Eunice Vincent of Alpine, Margaret Farley of Sanderson, Elizabeth Foley of Alpine were then presented.

Etta Sullivan of the Modern Study Club of Pecos received special recognition as a new Western District Life Member, having been voted as approved by the executive committee and then voted in during the Western District Board Meeting, prior to the convening of the convention. Catherine Travland of MSC chaired the preparation of the WD Life Member application for district consideration. Mrs. Dunn is also a Life Member of W.D. Mrs. Lucy McAdams of Odessa was able to attend on Sat. She became a Life Member in 1980.

Also receiving special recognition were TFWC former Western District presidents Bobbe Mitchell of Sanderson, Emily Dell Munn of San Angelo, Katheryn Steen of Marfa, Harriet Berlin of Odessa, JoAnne McClurg of Midland, Jackie Hendrick of Midland, Vinna Bess Robbins of Fort Stockton.

Lindseys tell of new son

Robin and Vivian Lindsey announce the birth of their first child, Jaxon Hank Lindsey.

Little Jaxon was born at 11:55 a.m., Monday, July 5, at Odessa Regional Hospital. He weighed seven pounds, 10 ounces and was 20 inches long at birth.

Maternal grandparents are Rodolfo and Emma Huerta of El Paso.

Paternal grandparents are Dene and Linda Lindsey of Pecos.

Search Entire Site:

Pecos Enterprise
York M. "Smokey" Briggs, Publisher
Division of Buckner News Alliance, Inc.

324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 915-445-5475, FAX 915-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 1999 by Pecos Enterprise