Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos, Click for Travel Guide

Pecos Enterprise

Site Map
Pecos Gab

Pecos Country History
Archive 62
Archive 74
Archive 87
1987 Tornado Photos
Rodeo Photos 88
Archive 95
Archive 96
Archive 97
News Photos 1997
Rodeo Photos 97
Archive 98
News Photos 1998
Rodeo Photos 98
Parade Photos 98
Archive 99
Photos 99
Archive 2000
Photos 2000
Photos 2001

Archive 2001

Area Newspapers
Economic Development


Daily Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas


Wednesday, November 28, 2001

Area students named to Who's Who

Several students from the Pecos area are included in the 35th Annual Edition of Who's Who Among American High School Students, 2000-2001.

Who's Who, published by Educational Communications, Inc., Lake Forest, Illinois, is the largest recognition program and publication in the nation honoring high achieving high school students. Students are nominated by high school principals and guidance counselors, national youth groups, churches and educational organizations based upon students' academic achievement and involvement in extracurricular activities. Traditionally, 99 percent of Who's Who Students have a grade point average of `B' or better and 97 percent are college bound.

The 35th Annual Edition of Who's Who Among American High School Students, 2000-2001, published in 18 regional volumes, features over 750,000 students or just 5 percent of the 24,000 public, private and parochial high schools in the country.

Who's Who students also compete for $200,000 in scholarship awards and participate in the publication's Annual Survey of High Achievers, an annual opinion poll of teen attitudes. The book is distributed on a complimentary basis to up to 15,000 high schools, colleges, universities and public libraries throughout the country. To learn more about Who's Who Among American High School Students, visit

Local students selected include, from Balmorhea, Arisela Arredondo, Theresa M. Hernandez, David J. Matta, Raquel B. Contreras, Kevin R. Machuca and Jennifer L. Ward.

From Barstow, Elisabeth Hernandez and Shanna L. Tredaway and Coyanosa, Delila R. Herrera.

From Pecos, Amanda Armstrong, Alexa Arredondo, Marisela Baez, Cassandra D. Bagley, Yvette Barreno, Brandi Bradley, Erica V. Caballero, John Canon, Ashley Contreras, Jena R. Cranfill, Lonnie G. Crawford IV, Maria A. Dominguez, Dena M. Dutchover, Rachelle Eisenberg, Erica Enriquez, Caroline Esquivel, Isela Flores, Brenda Fuentes and Elida Gonzales.

Also Jennifer Gooding, Elizabeth E. Herrera, Candace Hilliard, Micah J. Huffman, Stephanie M. Lenfest, Alexandrea F. Martinez, Rocky E. Mata, Christopher Matta, Patrick McChesney, Rebecca McChesney, Sarah L. McKinney, Trina A. Mena, Jessica M. Minjarez, Justin I. Mora, David R. Muniz, Jeannette M. Muniz, Brandi North, Bobby D. Orona, Fernando Orona, Jessica Orona, Rosalee N. Orona, Marisa Pando, Oscar J. Parada, John W. Parent, Nicole Payne, Alma D. Porras, Marilyn G. Prieto, Daniel F. Quintana, Lorie Rayos, Ysidro V. Renteria, Jr., Randall W. Reynolds, Kelsey Riley and Crystal C. Rodriguez.

Also Jessica Rodriguez, Diana M. Rubio, Jason M. Sanchez, Desirae A. Tercero, Travis A. Thorp, Veronica Valenzuela, Angel Villalobos, Diana Villescas, Rebecca N. Walker, Rebecca Wein and Oliver I. Zermeno.

From Toyah Richard W. Compton.

Search Entire Site:

Pecos Enterprise
York M. "Smokey" Briggs, Publisher
Division of Buckner News Alliance, Inc.

324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 915-445-5475, FAX 915-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 2001 by Pecos Enterprise