Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos, Click for Travel Guide

Pecos Enterprise

Site Map

Pecos Country History
Archive 62
Archive 74
Archive 87
1987 Tornado Photos
Rodeo Photos 88
Archive 95
Archive 96
Archive 97
News Photos 1997
Rodeo Photos 97
Archive 98
News Photos 1998
Rodeo Photos 98
Parade Photos 98
Archive 99
Photos 99
Archive 2000
Photos 2000

Area Newspapers
Economic Development


Daily Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas


Monday, June 11, 2001

TxDOT hands out safety awards to local employees

Whether driving on the highways or working on the highways, Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) employees know how important highway safety is.

And just as construction and maintenance activities on the state's highways shift into high gear with the summer season, TxDOT employees in the 12-county Odessa Disrrict paused for a moment to recognize its employees' outstanding safe driving and safe work records.

"Safety is our top priority," said District Engineer Lauren D. Garduno, who handed out safety awards at the annual district safety awards meeting.

Pecos and Balmorhea employees receiving safe operator awards included:

Pecos: Manuel Gonzales Jr., 20 years; Larry Levario, 18 years; Israel Rubio, 18 years; Ruben Fuentez, 18 years; Guadalupe Rede, 14 years; Daniel Reyes, 13 years; Gilberto Gonzales, 11 years; Arturo Vasquez, seven years; Gilbert Herrera, six years; Oscar Martinez, five years; Alfredo Herrera, four years; Hector Tarango, four years and Marcelino Munoz, Jr. two years.

Balmorhea: Fermin Rodriguez, 33 years; Jose Rodriguez, 26 years; Rosendo Galindo, 21 years; Tommy Dominguez, 21 years; Samuel Natividad, 13 years; Victor Mondragon, 13 years; Jesus Matta, 10 years; David Portillo, seven years; Manuel Mendoza, seven years; Javier Lozano, seven years; Rigoberto Garcia, four years and Joe Abel Rodriguez, one year;

Pecos Engineering: Lily Talamantez, 36 years; William Brown, 19 years; Manuel Muniz, Jr. 18 years; John Salcido, 16 years; Gary Rumbaugh, 14 years; Ben Hinojos, 13 years; Alain Gallego, 10 years; Kelli Revennaugh, 10 years; Juan Muniz, five years; Eloy Varela, five years; Gilbert Ybarra, two years and Cijifredo Zuniga, two years.

Geltemeyer, Davis announce June wedding plans

Carrie Lynn Geltemeyer and Dr. Anthony DeWayne Davis, both of Lubbock, are planning to be married at 7 p.m., June 16, at Grace Lutheran Church in Midland.

Parents of the bride-elect are Jim and Gwen Geltemeyer of Midland. Grandparents of the future bride are Jesse and Jean Bush of Pecos and Gladys Hollan of McGregor.

Parents of the future groom are Arthur and Carolyn Davis of Midland. Grandparents of the future groom are Mr. and Mrs. John Campbell of Odessa and Ludy Davis of Midland.

Miss Geltemeyer is a 1996 Midland High School graduate. She graduated in 2001 from the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center School of Nursing with a Bachelor's Degree in Nursing. She is employed as an ICU Nurse at Covenant Medical Center in Lubbock. She is a member of Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society in Nursing and the Golden Key National Honor Society.

Mr. Davis graduated from Lee High School in Midland in 1990,  and graduated from Texas Tech University in 1994 with a Bachelor's  in Molecular Biology. He graduated from the Texas Tech School of  Medicine in 1998. He is employed with Texas Tech Health Sciences  Center Department of Family Practice. He will be attending the College of  William and Mary School of Law in Williamsburg, Virginia, in the Fall.

OC student honored at convention

Odessa College student Sandy Sabedra was recently honored by the Texas Junior College Student Government Association at its state convention in Austin for serving as bulletin school representative.

OC was honored for acting as bulletin school.

Both the bulletin school and student representative serve on the TJCSGA's executive board and are responsible for the TJCSGA's quarterly newsletter.

Also at the convention, OC was elected to serve as parliamentarian school for 2001-2002, with Kara Burton serving as student representative.

"It's an honor and important responsibility to be elected to these positions _ both for the college and the student," said Laci Box, student activities coordinator and Student Government Association advisor.

In the TJCSGA, which represents 500,000 Texas junior college students, member colleges are elected annually to its nine-member executive board. For most board positions, the elected school's SGA members then select a student representative who, with the aid of an advisor, fulfills the operational and administrative responsibilities of the office.

Those responsibilities, particularly of the parliamentarian, are significant, said Box, considering that TJCSGA's primary mission involves student representation, leadership training and democratic fundamentals.

She added, "The Student Government Association develops important life skills, and we are very proud of our students' involvement."

For more information, contact Box at 335-6403.

Search Entire Site:

Pecos Enterprise
York M. "Smokey" Briggs, Publisher
Division of Buckner News Alliance, Inc.

324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 915-445-5475, FAX 915-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 2000 by Pecos Enterprise