Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos Pecos Enterprise


Archives 62
Archives 74
Archives 87
Archives 95
Archives 96
Archives 97
Archives 98
1987 Tornado Photos
News Photos 1997
News Photos 1998

Area Newspapers


Daily Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas


Monday, June 29, 1998

Club members meet last time for year

Members of The Modern Study Club met recently in the Saloon
of the West of the Pecos Museum for the final meeting of
their club year. Those attending enjoyed a lovely salad
luncheon. President Joyce Morton gave the prayer of thanks
and presided during activities.

Margie Williamson, Scholarship Chairman, introduced the
club's special guests, Jamie Corson, The Modern Study Club's
1998 Senior Scholarship recipient, her mother Helen Fobbs,
and sister Jennifer.

In Williamson's introduction she told of Jamie's outstanding
achievements and attributes. Jamie thanked the members for
selecting her for the scholarship and told of her future
plans and the college she has selected to attend in the fall.

The Club Collect and the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag of
the United States of America were repeated in unison by
those in attendance with Laura Teal and Pearl Gustafson,
leading respectively.

Secretary Catherine Travland read the minutes from the
previous meeting and two items of correspondence, including
a thank you note from Marlene Wine, GFWC, for the club's
donation to "Operation Smile," and an invitation to the
musical drama TEXAS that is being sponsored by the Pecos
Senior Center at a cost of $130 per person. Juracy McCall,
treasurer, reported on club finances and reminded members
that dues are now due.

President Morton presented a poignant yearly report she had
written in poem form to close out her club year.
Departmental chairmen then presented their report.

Pearl Gustafson, Americanism chairman, reported on
presidents having birthdays in May, June, July, August:
Harry S. Truman, 33rd President, 5-8-1884; George Herbert
Walker Bush, 41st President, 6-12-1924; Calvin Coolidge,
30th President, 7-4-1872; John Quincy Adams, 6th President,
7-11-1767; Benjamin Harrison, 23rd President, 8-20-1833;
Herbert Clark Hoover, 31st President, 8-10-1874; Bill
Clinton, 42nd President, 8-19-1946. She highlighted Harry S.

Phyllis Stool, Federation chairman, reminded us that the
TFWC was organized in 1897, admitted to GFWC in 1899 and
incorporated in 1914. She also reminded us of our motto: "In
small things liberty, in large things unity, in ALL things
clarity," and the GFWC motto is "Unity in Diversity." Also
mentioned was our volunteer work, donation to "Operation
SMILE," and support of libraries.

Nan Cate, International Affairs chairman, said she enjoyed
preparing and presenting a program on "China."

Williams, scholarship chairman, said she was pleased with
the ladies response to the fundraisers for the scholarship
and that she was extremely pleased with our scholarship

Stool reported that last year's scholarship recipient,
Olivia Valenzuela, was attending college in Midland and was
working at the Confederate Air Force Museum.

President Morton recognized reporter Williamson for all the
good publicity the club received during her presidency and
also thanked the telephone committee, Doris Moorman, Kay
Taylor and Juracy McCall for their dedication.

At the suggestion of CIP Chairman Catherine Travland the
club voted to reimburse President Morton for the $50
donation she had given on behalf of The Modern Study Club
for the planting of flowers on Highway 285 from the
Interstate to the Civic Center.

Nan Cate conducted the installation ceremony for new
officers. Each officer received a ceramic angel magnet from
Cate after her advisement of their duties of office and
their acceptance of those responsibilities.

New officers of the organization are Lena Harpham,
president; Catherine Travland, vice president; Bobbi Lang,
secretary; Pearl Gustafson, treasurer; Margie Williamson and
Laura Teal, reporters and Joyce Morton, parliamentarian.

President Morton concluded her tenure by turning over the
gavel to Lena Harpham, the 1998-2000 President. Harpham
announced the TFWC President's them for 1998-2000 is "Past
plus the present, equal 2000." Harpham's theme will be "A
new beginning, what a beautiful morning, what a beautiful
day God has made." The Morning Glory will be her symbol.

Harpham presented outgoing President Joyce Morton a gift for
her dedicated service which read; "And we know that all
things work together to them that love God." Romans 8:28.

It was also announced that Joyce Morton's name has been
entered into the TFWC "Golden Book" as President of The
Modern Study Club of Pecos during the years of 1996-1998 as
part of her appreciation gift from the club.

Roll call was answered "How I will help Lena in the coming

Hostesses for the luncheon and meeting activities was the
social committee, Juracy McCall, Nan Cate, Laura Teal and
Lena Harpham.

Read celebrates first birthday

Skyler Read celebrated her first birthday on June 24.

Her sister Brittany and father and mother, Stephen and
Michelle Read in San Angelo helped with the special occasion.

Skyler is the granddaughter of Olga Granado of Midland and
great-granddaughter of Francisco and Juanita Granado of

Paternal grandparents are Clyde Read of Austin and Jean Read

Search Entire Site:

Pecos Enterprise
Mac McKinnon, Publisher
Division of Buckner News Alliance, Inc.

324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 915-445-5475, FAX 915-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 1998 by Pecos Enterprise