Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos Pecos Enterprise


Archives 62
Archives 74
Archives 87
Archives 95
Archives 96
Archives 97
Archives 98
1987 Tornado Photos
News Photos 1997
News Photos 1998

Area Newspapers


Daily Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas


Thursday, May 21, 1998

Study club receives convention awards

The Modern Study club was well represented at the 38th
Annual Spring Convention of the Western District of the
Texas Federation of Women's clubs held in Alpine recently.

Representing Pecos was Modern Study Club officers, president
Joyce Morton, vice-president Lena Harpham, secretary
Catherine Travland, treasurer, Juracy McCall, and reporter
Margie Williamson. Also, Etta Sullivan, Nan Cate, Hazel
Barmore, and Frances Wood. Four of these ladies also serve
on the Western District Board. They are Etta Sullivan as
head of the Substance Abuse Prevention program in the Home
Life Department; Nan Cate, resolution chairman, Standing
Committees Department; Margie Williamson, photographer,
Special Presidential Appointment and Joyce Morton as a
Western District Club president.

Barbara Saunders of Marfa, Western District President,
conducted the formal opening of the convention. Winna Bess
Robbins of Fort Stockton, former Western District President
gave the invocation. Elinore Chatham and Ann Talley, both of
Alpine, led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States
flag and the Texas flag, respectively. Harriet Berlin of
Odessa, former Western District President led the National

The welcome was given by county judge Val Beard of Alpine
with Lois Grant of Monahans, responding. President Saunders
then presented the hostess club, the Alpine Woman's Club.

Saunders also gave special recognition to Minnie Simmang of
Giddings, president of the Texas Federation of Women's Clubs
and Bobbe Mitchell of Sanderson who serves as second
vice-president of TFWC.

District Life members of TFWC Frances Dunn of Odessa,
Barbara Humphreys of Marfa, Lucy McAdams of Odessa, Ruth
Thompson of Midland, Margaret Farley of Sanderson, Eunice
Vincent of Alpine and Winna Bess Robbins of Fort Stockton
were then presented.

Also receiving special recognition were TFWC past Western
District Presidents Bonnie Sandel of Big Lake, Winna Bess
Robbins of Fort Stockton, Bobbe Mitchell of Sanderson, Emily
Delle Munn of San Angelo, Katheryn Steen of Marfa, Harriet
Berlin of Odessa and JoAnne McClurg of Midland. Robbins was
also recognized as being a TFWC State Life Member, a very
oustanding accomplishment.

Following the presentation of the rules, regulations, and
the program, roll call was held. Recommendations of the
executive board were given and district finances were
reported by Bonnie Sandel, treasurer. Other offices of
Western District, the TFWC trustee Emily Delle Munn, TFWC
Scholarship chairman Stacy Webb and Alma Van Sickle Chairman
Eunice Vincent, also presented reports.

Outstanding programs and projects were reported on by
district chairmen. Doris Stevenson of Monahans, chairman of
the U.T.M.D. Anderson Cancer Research Center donations
reported a good response, and Jean Virden of Bik Lake told
of the yearbook contest and the winners who advanced to
state competition.

Elinore Chatham of Alpine presented the registration report
prior to the General Federation of Women's Clubs, Western
District Departmental reports in arts, conservation,
education, home life, international affairs and public
affairs. TFWC Texas Heritage Dept. report. Margie Williamson
presented a report for Pearl Gustafson, chairman of Crime
Prevention in the international affair dept., who was unable
to attend.

Standing committee reports followed by the election of
officers concluded the day session of the convention.

A banquet held in the Sul Ross during hall, honoring the
TFWC president, TFWC officers and board attendees and
concluded the day's activities.

A past-president's breakfast and also a continental
breakfast for everyone was held at 8:30 a.m. with the
convention reconvening at 9:45 a.m. Roll call of clubs was
held and announcements made, prior to the Western District
president's reports, which included Morton speaking for the
Modern Study Club.

Peggy Kelton, first vice-president of McCamey, presented
Western District and TFWC awards to many of the district
clubs. The Modern Study Club received the following:
yearbook - 100 percent; Americanism Day Program - first
place; home life dept., special project, first place; fund
raising - first place; resource conservation - first place;
federation day program, second place; arts and crafts, third
place and home life special project, fourth place.

Six members of the The Modern Study Club also brought home
34 art awards in the arts and crafts show held in
conjunction with the convention which included two best of
division awards and the best of show in the fine art

Minnie Simmang of Giddings, president of the Texas
Federation of Women's Clubs, conducted the installation of
officers. Installed were Frances Dunn of Odessa, president,
Peggy Kelton of McCamey, president-elect, Joyce Goldwire of
Sanderson, first vice president, Joyce Morton of Pecos,
second vice president, Jack Hendricks of Midland, recording
secretary, Bonnie Sandel of Big Lake, treasurer, Harriet
Berlin of Odessa, assistant treasurer, Jackie Hendricks,
TFWC HF trustee, Ruth Thompson of Midland scholarship
representative, Eunice Vincent of Alpine, Alma Van Sickle
Scholarship representative, and Barbara Saunders of Marfa,

A courtesy resolution was extended to the clubwomen by Bobbe
Mitchell for the fall board meeting. She urged everyone to
plan to attend.

A delicious luncheon prepared by the host club, the Alpine
Women's Club, was held at noon with Metha Sprinkle of Alpine
saying Grace.

Madge Weatherby of Big Lake conducted an In Memoriam service
following the noon meal, naming close family members of
Western District Women, who has passed away since the 1997

Minnie Simmang, TFWC president, then addressed the
convention, speaking on the story of the preservation of the

The convention was adjourned with the recitation in unison
of the Club Collect by Mary Stewart.

Search Entire Site:

Pecos Enterprise
Mac McKinnon, Publisher
Division of Buckner News Alliance, Inc.

324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 915-445-5475, FAX 915-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 1998 by Pecos Enterprise